Celebrating Success

 

DSC04186

To celebrate International Women’s Day and as part of a wider group blogging challenge, I am writing a series of posts around celebration and success.  In a recent post I talked about Cheerleaders and empowering each other.

There has been a lot of negative coverage recently touching on the choices that women make (ie stay at home mums, working mums, employed, self-employed, working, not working) – and so it goes on.

These are just a few examples.

Same story, different day.

I thought it would be a perfect opportunity and a refreshing change to acknowledge and celebrate success.

You never have to look too far from home to find inspirational people.

I am talking about people who you often look at and marvel at the way they have put themselves out there and how they  are taking the chance to do something amazing.

They have empowered themselves to take the bull by the horns to pursue something they love – their dream, or perhaps something that will benefit others.

We are particularly well served in our local area for such people.

These people may be friends, acquaintances or perhaps individuals that you have come across in the local community or through local social media sites.

Some people just catch your attention.

This could be through businesses they have set up, projects they have been involved in or through simply by being Cheerleaders for causes that are for the greater good of others.

DSC04231

These people are often going it alone.

When you work for yourself – it is just you.  You don’t have the camaraderie of colleagues to turn to when the going gets tough.  You don’t sit opposite someone to solve problems with or share ideas.

You are the boss and the team.  You are the whole department.

As well as being the expert in your line of business, you also need to acquire a first class set of business skills in all discipline areas.  The whole shebang and caboodle.

There are lots of people doing this very well locally.

There are a couple of people in particular that I would like to talk about over my next few posts.

Actually, this isn’t altogether true – there are many,  but I have chosen these people (women on this occasion) because I have admired their sheer grit and determination to pursue their goals.

I want to share their stories and their inspiration because they deserve a great big cheer.

Not least for being experts in their fields.

We can all take inspiration from the success of others.  There is also no greater way to learn.

You may well have been in their shoes.

DSC04233

When starting out on a new venture alone, there is a popular saying that you ‘set out your stall and no one comes’.  In other words, you are really going to have to work for it.

We all experience times where we have to just keep going and going with no end in sight.  We also learn what it is like to fail too.  Cheerleaders are particularly welcome during these times.

It can often feel like the break will never come.

When it does, it’s generally when you least expect it.

In much the same way as any personal challenge or dream, the feeling of having achieved your goal can be quite beautiful – irrespective of its size.

It is very worthy of celebration.

DSC04191

This celebration is the thing we often forget.

I am really looking forward to sharing these stories over my forthcoming blogs.

It would also be lovely to hear your own success stories.  Feel free to comment and share away.

Let’s get banging those drums!

I have chosen some pictures from the 2012 Olympic Games to accompany this post.  These perfectly depict what I convey here.

Many of them are from the Olympic Parade that passed through the streets of London in September 2012 which we had the privilege to see.

They illustrate success and cheerleading rather well.

I hope you enjoy this and the posts that follow.

My first interview will be with the lovely Laura from E18 Yoga.   Heather Waring and her walking experiences follows and then Alanna Flanders-Doherty will be telling us about her work as a Make-Up Artist

Thank you for reading.

Nicky

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Celebrating Success

  1. After reading your comments about cheerleaders I reflected on what a great cheerleader my husband is for me. I also realised my daughter needed and deserved some concerted cheerleading from me and so I made a conscious effort to think about how I was going to do it and then put it into practice. A few carefully chosen words made an astonishing impact on her. It made me realise how important it is to do this for other people. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sarah for your lovely comment. I guess we don’t always appreciate what the other does sometimes do we. Interesting with your daughter. I’m imagining those words were very carefully chosen. I also have a daughter and know how careful that choice needs to be. I appreciate your feedback.

      Like

  2. Once again a thought-provoking and encouraging post. Without family life can be very lonely but there are choices. I choose to write. So I do, and in participating in this blogging challenge – wow, look how much my horizons have widened! (And I remember that those Olympic athletes were up in the very early hours and training, regardless. So… I have no excuse. Up and at ’em and be my own motivator and encourager. Thanks for a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Susan once again for your lovely comment. Olympic time was so special here in London. It was one of those times where everyone came together and it was a wonderful summer. I remember crying on the Central Line on Super Saturday at the joy of the games coming to the town where I was born. Such a wonderful atmosphere and such inspirational people. Are you originally from London? Up and at ’em is a very typical phrase.

      Like

  3. So glad you wrote about this topic Nicky, as a great reminder for women. We are usually good at doing and achieving things but rarely stop long enough to give ourselves the occasional pat on the back along the way…. let alone celebrate! Ps love the Olympic photos:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ute. I think the pat on the back is easily forgotten. I think little and often is a good rule of thumb – even for when things don’t quite go to plan. It was nice to go through those pictures again – such great memories.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think that its great to celebrate success and for you to champion people and shed light on their work. It’s a really good thing to do. Well done you! I read your post on Laura and her yoga and I look forward to visiting your blog again:)

    Mainy

    #KCACOLS

    http://www.myrealfairy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mainy. I think it makes a change to be able to do this. We do have some brilliant entrepreneurs where I live. It’s nice to listen to others stories and how they’ve made it work for them. I’ve really enjoyed hearing them. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

  5. A great reminder for women – the pat on the back is so often easily forgotten. And especially as mothers, we are very bad at celebrating our own achievements – it’s always all about our spouses and kids. Love this post, BTW.

    #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right Veronica. You make an interesting point there. I’m just thinking back to pre-children and relationships (I’m just checking the archives!). Our focus is of course completely different then. Thank you and thank you for commenting.

      Like

  6. This is such a great idea. I think a lot of women aren’t good with shouting about their achievements because they tend to always put their family first.

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment